Book Review: Reclaiming Love by Ajith Fernando

Reclaiming Love: Radical Relationships in a Complex World is essentially an exposition of 1 Corinthians 13. The book is a call to Christians to follow the way of decisive, dynamic, and self-giving love. It is a good corrective to those who understand love solely in terms of an emotional response.

Solidness: PlusPlus++

The book contains solid biblical and systematic theology on the topic of love. It is evident that Fernando did his homework putting together the book. It’s not exactly a commentary, but if I ever preach through 1 Corinthians 13 I will probably re-read at least portions of this book.

Freshness: Neutral

While Fernando’s work is not terribly original, the message is one that bears repeating. Of all the various aspects of spiritual formation and discipleship, the concept and command to love God and love neighbor is the most central, but it is often overlooked. It’s something “we already know,” or at least, we think we do, and so we skim past it. There is no “moving past” a decisive, enduring, and dynamic love. I originally wrote this review a few weeks ago but didn’t publish right away. I’m glad I didn’t, since within those few weeks I learned again and again (read: I failed again and again) the necessity of really being obedient in this area of life.

Recommendation

I would recommend this book in two instances. First, it’s a good read if you are preparing to teach on 1 Corinthians 13. Second, the first several chapters are an excellent primer on the Biblical understanding of love. If you are giving a general teaching on love, or are in general just interested in the topic, these first few chapters might be worth the price.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

