Book Review: Static Jedi by Eric Samuel Timm

static-jediWe are bombarded by the noise of technology, social networking, and entertainment, more so than in any previous age. This noise seductively draws us in, demanding more and more of our time. In the blink of an eye we’ve lost hours to the noise. It’s happened to me. It’s probably happened to you. In the meantime, time wasted in the noise isn’t invested elsewhere – in time with our families, in lifelong education, or in time with God. Eric Samuel Timm, in Static Jedi: The Art of Hearing God Through the Noise, calls us to flip the script, to learn from the Master, to reclaim the limited currency of time, and to draw close to God.

Becoming a “static Jedi” begins with pursuing God as a person. A person can be sought, pursued. The pursuit of God means we love God more than we love the noise. In this pursuit we need to beware of “false mastery.” Quasi-static Jedi’s only have a cursory understanding of the Bible and have shallow prayers. They have the appearance of godliness, but never take the time to dig deep.

True static masters follow The static Master, Jesus. Specifically, Timm has in mind five spiritual disciplines that marked the life of Jesus: Rising early, prayer, Scripture memorization, fasting, and making disciples. Timm challenges his readers to these five disciplines. The first, rising early, opens up space for us to meet with God and adds time to our day. The second, prayer, draws us into a relationship with God. The third, memorizing Scripture, gives us the opportunity to hear from God. The fourth, fasting, reminds us that we must love God even more than food. Finally, in making disciples we follow both the example and the command of Jesus.

In all, Timm’s work is a solid exhortation to the pursuit of God and the spiritual disciplines, set as both a cure and an alternative to the noise of the world. This is an area I personally need a lot of work in.

I also like the title, “Static Jedi”, because it connects with many of the teenagers at our church. I asked the kids which of several books they were interested in working through in our weekly devotionals and they were all excited about “Static Jedi.” I chalk a lot of that up to the title. I hope that this opens the door to get to the meat of Timm’s message. Also, I appreciate that there’s some meaning behind the title. “Jedi” is short for “Jedediah” which is Hebrew for “friend of God” and “static” signifies stillness. To be a Static Jedi, then, means to be a friend of God and marked by internal balance.

The only issue I had with the book I chalk up to a personal preference. The book is a bit scattered and not quite as ordered as I prefer. He also has more personal stories (and references to food, man I was getting hungry) than I think were necessary. I think many others will enjoy his style – it is clever and artistic.

I’m grateful that Timm has put this important and classic message in a fresh package and I am looking forward to sharing many of his insights with the youth of our church.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free for the purpose of writing a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

