Top 10 Books I Read in 2014

Here are the top 10 books I read in 2014. These books were interesting, enjoyable, and helped me see life more clearly.

10. Concrete Killing Fields by Pat Morgan: First person account of working to end homelessness. Plus, the author provided a guest post for this blog.

9. Sway by Ori Brafman: Fascinating look at why we so often make illogical decisions. Bonus points for using a lot of aviation examples. (Post inspired by Sway: In Praise of the Curmudgeon)

8. Communicating for a Change by Andy Stanley: One of the most accessible and compelling books on preaching. (What makes a sermon life changing?)

7. In Search of Deep Faith by Jim Belcher: Successfully weaves history, theology, and philosophy into a story of his family’s journey through Europe. (Story of Le Chambon)

6. Letter from a Birmingham Jail: Not a book, but still an excellent read, which is why it made the list. (‘Extreme’ Religion)

5. Radical by David Platt: This book punches you in the face, on a good way. (Book Review)

4. The Reason for God by Tim Keller: One of the better apologetic books out there. This one will definitely need a re-read some day. (Review of apologetics books)

3. Parenting by the Book by John Rosemond: Lays out a comprehensive system of raising children. The best of the various books on parenting that I read this year.

2. The Abolition of Man by C.S. Lewis: It’s a classic for a reason. (Lewis’ dystopic vision)

1.  Seven Habits of Highly Effective People: Mind blown by the number of paradigms in hit me with. Covey is an excellent communicator. (Inside-Out Thinking, Important but not Urgent, Dependence, Independence, Interdependence)

Honorable Mention:

Raised? by Jonathan Dodson and Brad Watson: This is a good short apologetic on the resurrection and some of the basics of Christian faith. (Review)

Here’s all the other books I read in 2014, in no particular order: Launching a Leadership Revolution (Leadership), I Wear the Black Hat (Soc Sci), Erasing Hell (my first reading of Francis Chan), Beyond Awkward (evangelism), Be the Dad She Needs you to Be (Parenting), Family Shepherds (Parenting), Oh! You’re one of those people (Personal history/homelessness), The Return of the Prodigal Son, A Godward Heart (Devotional), Firsthand, Unstoppable (Christian Living), The Greatest Words Ever Spoken (Reference), Ragamuffin Bible.

What were your favorite books of 2014?

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I Read in 2014

  1. patmorganauthor1

    Steven: I am SO pleased that you included my book in your list of the top ten books you read in 2014. You have validated my belief that my stories about the homeless people I loved and lost can help to further enlighten people of faith to the reality of homelessness. Thank you for helping me end 2014 in a better way. My beloved brother died in April. Ten days later my brother-in-law died. Both of them had been ill for a long time, but two weeks later, I almost lost my son. He had not been ill and he is okay today but it was, as you can imagine, my worst nightmare. It was my faith that sustained me, and but it was my “mission” that kept me going. Keep slashing!

    Pat Morgan

    Author/ Concrete Killing Fields

Comments are closed.