Coming Soon: Growing in the Gospel: Ephesians

If the Slasher Pastor blog goes quiet for a little while, it’s because I’m devoting more of my writing and study efforts to this study in Ephesians. I encourage you to check it out.

Growing in the Gospel

As a pastor, one of my key responsibilities, and indeed the mission of the whole church, is to make disciples of Jesus. Making disciples includes includes evangelism -sharing the good news of Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection and calling people to repentance and faith – and discipleship – helping believers grow in their faith, move from spiritual immaturity to maturity, grow in the knowledge of God, bear the fruit of the Holy Spirit, and so on.

But how do we grow in our faith? I’ve learned that the answer to this question is complex. I’ve also learned that one of the key elements of spiritual growth is knowledge and application of Scripture. Faith comes from knowledge and knowledge – the kind needed for spiritual maturity – comes from the Word of God, His trustworthy revelation. Knowledge is necessary, but it is not sufficient. Knowledge, by itself, merely puffs up and makes us…

View original post 290 more words

